Book Reviews

Review: One Minute Later

on
June 19, 2019

One Minute Later shows just how fragile life is and how everything can change in an instant. Vivienne is living the fast-paced life of a modern 27-year-old when a heart conditions brings everything to a screeching halt.

Susan Lewis is known for taking readers on an emotional roller coaster and One Minute Later is no different. Lewis brings to light the importance of organ donation. One person can save nine lives if they are a card-carrying organ donor.

Vivienne’s story is intertwined with several other plot strands throughout the novel, all converging at the heart-wrenching end.

I found the characters likable and the story beautifully written. This books spans several themes and had me thinking about it long after the last page.

About One Minute Later

• Paperback: 512 pages
• Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks (June 11, 2019)

International bestselling author Susan Lewis’ riveting, unforgettable novel of a woman whose life changes in an instant and the handsome young man with whom she shares a secret history—perfect for readers of Diane Chamberlain, Jodi Picoult and Susan Wiggs.

How well do you know the people you love? For one young woman returning to the past, the answer could be heart-shattering…

Vivi Shager is living her dream. Raised with drive and ambition by a resolutely single mother, Vivi has a thriving law career, a gorgeous apartment in London, and a full calendar that keeps her busy at work and at play. Then on the day of her twenty-seventh birthday, an undiagnosed heart condition sends Vivi’s prospects for the future into a tailspin. After escaping her roots nearly a decade ago, she’s forced to return to her childhood home to be cared for by her devoted and enigmatic mother. Vivi has always known the woman is hiding something and now she’s determined to find out what it is. Though her condition makes her fragile and vulnerable and she’s afraid of what may happen, her spirit remains strong. Then comes an unexpected ray of light.

Josh Raynor, a local veterinarian who his sisters claim is too handsome for his own good, brings a forbidden love to Vivi’s world. Josh and Vivi are soon inseparable, unaware of the past their families share. All Vivi knows is that Josh is wrestling with a demon of his own…

Then quite suddenly the awful truth is staring Vivi in the face and it changes everything.

Purchase Links

HarperCollins | Amazon | Barnes & Noble

About Susan Lewis

Susan Lewis is the internationally bestselling author of more than forty books across the genres of family drama, thriller, suspense, and crime. She is also the author of Just One More Day and One Day at a Time, the moving memoirs of her childhood in Bristol during the 1960s. Following periods of living in Los Angeles and the South of France, she currently lives in Gloucestershire with her husband, James; stepsons, Michael and Luke; and mischievous dogs, Coco and Lulu.

Find out more at her website, and connect with her on Facebook.

 

TAGS
RELATED POSTS
1 Comment
  1. Reply

    Sara

    June 23, 2019

    I have a friend who is the recipient of a heart and liver (at the same time) so I sent her this book, I thought she’d enjoy it, I’m glad you did! Thanks for being on this tour! Sara @ TLC Book Tours

LEAVE A COMMENT

LQ Newsletter

Recent Posts
Shop Our Current Favorites
Stuff We Love

Daily Boutique Deals

Felici Self Striping Yarn from Knit Picks

Follow us on Twitter